Showing posts with label no sewing. Show all posts
Showing posts with label no sewing. Show all posts

Sunday, March 16, 2014

Cozy Sunday, No Work Today

Well today is zooming by in a cozy comfy cocoon of coffee, cats, cuddling & sunshine...

 
She's got something behind her ear....I'll get it...

I couldn't make the bed....the cats were still sleeping!
 Here's some pics to keep the warm fuzzies goin'....

Vamp stealing my pillow...

Mikie in the sunny spot

Not much happening today...I have to go to a surprise baby shower later....enjoy your Sunday!

Monday, July 9, 2012

It rains, and then pours

Well Hi!
**This was a draft I had saved and forgot to post from June 9th**

It's been a bit since I've last posted; let me tell ya; when it rains, it POURS. 
Life can get away from you sometimes, and even with the best of intentions all my fav and wonderful crafty things have to get put down and put away.
SO let's see: After the HBBA (Home Based Business Association - GREAT group) Home & Health show in May; I needed to step back for a bit from sewing. A little too much for too long. 

THEN... I got a NEW job! Yay! Full time, the only downer was it's a 40 min commute; but...recently I was transferred BACK to my area and now my commute is FIVE (count 'em) FIVE minutes. YAY! And I'm really enjoying it. Won't say the name, but it's a Canadian retailer and successful and so far, I'm having fun.

The big kicker is, our house is up for sale; and so sewing like I tend to do - looks rather like a tornado of thread and fabric and needles etc landed in the Quilt Cave - isn't really possible at this time.

But I did finish off a lil' giftie for one of my Best Pals Ever...A super cute Kitty Cat Quilt to thank her for being one of the Best Pals Ever.


Currently working on a King Size (UGH) Irish Chain for my Dad; they're getting married this weekend ...wait...scratch that...in 5 hours....June 9th and so um, they'll get their quilt later in the week. Heh. Or now, since it's July....mmmm soon. Ish.

So much like yours, I'm sure, life is Good...but busy. And that's okay. Keeps me outta trouble. 

But there's some WIPS down in the Cave...I can hear them once again startin' to call my name....mostly thought I have to go clean.....

So there's the update! 

 Here are some completely non-quilt related pics; our small town has a local fair that comes once a year and it is a much awaited for event for the under 12 set. Heck. Who am I kidding...who doesn't love a good fair?!





Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Fell down go boom. Ow. No quilting today.

Well, no sewing for me tonite.

I was takin' out the garbage, and there's this ONE sidewalk stone that I know is raised up a bit. I know it's there. I know you know I know it's there.

I forgot it was there.

Ow.


Ah. The moment when you are happily skipping along and then the next you are mid-air, flailing....

Then, you are dazed with pain, scrambling back up the steps to get inside as soon as possible.....hoping that no neighbour witnessed your graceful descent....

Hoping no one is noticing you are trying *really* hard not to cry.

Yeah, it hurt that much.

Yeah I bangeded up my knee and shin prettttty darn good. I landed square on my kneecap. It hurts to bend it. But it bears weight so I don't think it's broken. Just painful. I put frozen veggies on it and kept it elevated...now i'm hobbling around.

I can't believe I fell down and skinned my knees, hands and cut my toe somehow. Owie.

Even though I had a full nite of sewing planned; I spent most of it on the couch watching hours of junk tv. The cat was happy, he snuggled right up to me and is still snoring happily beside me.

To-morrow and to-morrow and to-morrow... I shall sew away to-morrow. Knee allowing, of course.

Ow.

Good night, all.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

A Scary Halloween Tale of the Dentist. Not quilt related.

Hope you all had a great and safe Hallowe'en. Mine, unfortunately was more of the TRICK than treat kind....
Yeah. I bit into a delicious little purple skeleton candy...and OW OW OW!!
I cracked a tooth. Yep. Ow. I know. It hurt.
So I soldiered through the night and went to the dentist first thing today. Now, I just moved back to this area and hadn't  had opportunity to get around to seeing a local dentist.....funny how those things get pushed back.

I guess no one really likes to go to the dentist, really. I'd feel bad for dentists cuz while it is a high profile well paying job, nobody likes them. Or likes to go see them> so no matter how pleasant and nice....we don't really want to be sitting in that sterile smelling office.
It makes things worse if you had a bad experience as a child. I'm blessed with straight, white teeth and a nice smile. however, my teeth are weak, brittle and chock full o cavities. I always hated going to the dentist. I'd have to be dropped off there or take the bus and it was far, far away from where I lived. Or so it seemed. Sitting by yourself in the big, dark office (or so it seemed) waiting for the lady behind the wall who was just head and shoulders to call you in....scary. And then to go in and get in that big chair...have the paper napkin pinned to you.....scary.
The worst part for me was the cavities. And I always had them. I brushed. I flossed. I didn't eat to much candy or drink too much pop. But they were always there.
I remember laying on the chair. Looking up past the scary light (Don't those lights look JUST like the Aliens in the original War of the Worlds??) and trying to count the dots in the ceiling tiles. Trying to listen to the music on the radio over the scary high pitched whine in your ears that came from witihn.
I also remember...my dentist was well endowed. And as she'd lean over her boob would always be RIGHT THERE and she wore scratchy sweaters. And she wore glasses so sometimes I could look up and see the reflection of what was going on in my mouth in them. But I remember she'd always be gossiping about people with her assistant and I was thinking GET ME OUT OF HERE NOW.......imagining my Imaginary friend, Wonderwoman would be waiting to pick me up with the Jet when I was done. Anything to take my mind off where I was and the horror. The horror.
And then the worst part. The absolute worst part, was leaving. Leaving, taking that walk of shame, that running of the gauntlet of shame......past the wall of smiling children, happily showing all their Cavity Free teeth on the Look No Cavities! Wall....the wall I so desperately wanted to pin MY OWN polaroid of me on, and never ever got the chance to . Even picking out a toy from the treasure chest didn't make it better. I knew. I knew even then it was a consolation prize. Here kid. Take better care of your teeth, ya schmuck. Aw. Don't feel so bad. Have a plastic ring that says "I go-fer my dentist" that has a picture of a smiling gopher showing off HIS cavity free teeth. Sigh.
I. Never. Got. My. Picture. On. That. Wall.
Ever.

But um...I digress...

The young dentist I saw today was very nice. She was pleasant and efficient. She Xrayed and poked and drilled and got all sorts of tools ready. As she started to examine my broken tooth she pulled out the drill and then.....the words you never wanna hear....





Oops.





Suddenly she stopped drilling and the hygenist stopped suctioning. They both reached for gauze and pressure was applied (I took their words for it, I was and am, still frozen) to my LIP where she had accidentally sliced it open with the drill.

Three stiches and minus half a tooth later.....

I'm home. I'm frozen. And I'm Hungry! 

The worst part is I have to FILM a show tonite, and I'm all puffy and a bit bruised around the stitches.
She was very apologetic and gave me a darn good discount on the work today. I go back friday to have them removed.

Le sigh. I'm gonna go quilt.